Arduino Due - Emulating Incremental Rotary Encoder Signals

Hi, for my current project I would like to emulate an incremental rotary encoder signal. Therefore I have to create six different signals A, B, Index (and their 3 inverted signals). I want to do this using 6 PWM signals with a duty cycle of 50%. The frequency of the PWM signals I determine, by continuously reading the voltage of the ADC pin. I succeeded with the A signal to vary freq. depending on the voltage with:

//Set clock A to run at PWM_FREQUENCY * MAX_DUTY_CYCLE
 PWMC_ConfigureClocks((PWM_FREQUENCY * MAX_DUTY_CYCLE), 0, VARIANT_MCK )

For the B signal and inverse A and B I need to create a phase shift of 90 degrees for the B signal, and 180 degrees for inverse A and B. The frequency must remain identical. In the SAM3X datasheet I read about link channels in synchronous mode. Since I'm fairly new to programming, I do not know how I get this done. Is there someone who can help to me how to do this? Thanks!

Hi,

my answer might be a bit late but I just needed the same thing and found out a nice way how to get the quadrature signals A and B and their inverse with 50% duty cycle.
The approach uses the internal PWM channels of the SAM3X8E that are on different pins than the normal PWM pins defined by the Arduino platform. They can be identified in the pinout diagram by labels like PWMLx and PWMHx.
These PWM channels offer the possibility of generating a 2-bit gray count signal on a given pair of PWM channels. This means that both PWM channels output a signal of given frequency and 50% duty cycle, but shifted by 90° in phase.

The following code generates such a coupled gray count signal on pins 35 (PWMH0) and 37 (PWMH1), corresponding to quadrature signals A and B. Naturally the inverted signals of A and B can be simultaneously found on the PWML0 and PWML1 channels (pins 34 and 36).

// pin definitions
const int pwm_pin1 = 35; // PWMH0
const int pwm_pin2 = 37; // PWMH1
const int pwm_pin3 = 34; // PWML0