Help getting started

Hey guys. I need a little guidance. I've become very interested in programming and microcontrollers as of this year. I want to be able to program them in order to create cool projects for my car. I'm a Auto Technician with with a great understanding of how electricity works, and a fairly good understanding of electronics as a whole. I'm just not sure of Arduino is for me.

I have a friend who gave me a Renesas starter kit, and told me that learning C with it would be much better than starting with Ardunio. He didn't like the fact that Ardunio used a language based on C. I look at the starter kit and some code and my mind instantly melted. I love to learn and I'm pretty quick at picking stuff up, but this was insane. Now I'm back at looking at getting a Arduino.

The thing is, would I be able to transfer smoothly from learning and using the Arduino language to full C easily? And can the Arduino be programmed using C directly? Thanks :slight_smile:

The "Arduino language" is C (with some C++ classes thrown in). On top of C, there are some predefined functions that handle common tasks like reading pins, writing to pins, generating PWM waveforms, etc. But they're not a separate language, just pre-written functions that you call from C. You could program it directly in C (or C++).

The Arduino is a good way to become familiar with microcontroller programming in general. It is not as intimidating as a more powerful starter kit like the one you mention and would probably serve as a good first step. If/when you are ready to work with a more powerful kit your knowledge will transfer.

--
Check out our new shield: http://www.ruggedcircuits.com/html/gadget_shield.html