Strategies to shrink the size of my sketch

Hello all, So I've been messing around with Arduino for a few years now and I just finished Jeremy Blums Arduino book. I'm attempting to make a fish tank data display/dosing pump controller. I started programming this on a Mega and I've just transferred it over to a Pro mini. unfortunately, I'm already at around 85% dynamic memory usage on the mini and I haven't even added the RTC code, pump calculations, etc. I feel like this should be a fairly small program but I'm just inexperienced so it's not :sweat_smile: . Anyways if someone would be kind enough to take a look at my sketch and give me some pointers I'd appreciate that very much. Thank you!!

Aquarium_Controller_V1.zip (4.2 KB)

Aquarium_Controller_V1.ino (9.7 KB)

Dosing_Pump_Settings_Screen.ino (5.7 KB)

Monitoring_Screen.ino (999 Bytes)

Settings_Main_Screen.ino (970 Bytes)

Zipping it was a good strategy to shrink the code size here :)) ... but Post code directly using code tags (and indent the code) - so we can read this on a mobile

I just tried, unfortunately, my sketch is well over 9000 characters and to get it below the limit I have to omit most of the code. (may be why it takes up so much memory? :sweat_smile: )

harry88:
I just tried, unfortunately, my sketch is well over 9000 characters...

Attaching the four individual files is a somewhat reasonable compromise.

Ok, can do!
They're attached.

Aquarium_Controller_V1.ino (9.7 KB)

Dosing_Pump_Settings_Screen.ino (5.7 KB)

Monitoring_Screen.ino (999 Bytes)

Settings_Main_Screen.ino (970 Bytes)

MorganS:
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Memory

So I read that and I believe I've done at least a halfway decent job of using the smallest data type possible where I can. I think my biggest issue is my strings taking up too much memory and I've used the print function with the F flag where possible. Or are you suggesting I use an external storage device to store data? I know my RTC said I could write to its RAM.