Connection and sending e-mail with Arduino Uno WiFi

Hello everyone,
I am a beginner on the subject and I am making a project with Arduino UNO WiFi (https://store.arduino.cc/arduino-uno-wifi) which consists of alerting the user by e-mail if certain thresholds of gas (detected with appropriate sensors) were exceeded.
I set the Arduino UNO WiFi through the following guide:

I'm having problems in the code related to the connection to the internet with the consequent creation and sending of the e-mail. After several searches on the internet, I did not find anything that referred to the Arduino UNO WiFi but only codes related to Arduino UNO + shield Ethernet / WiFi.
I tried to follow the guide found on this forum at the following address:

http://playground.arduino.cc/Italiano/Mail

trying to adapt the instructions of the Ethernet library with those of the WiFi library without success.
The arduino UNO WiFi can be treated as an arduino UNO + shield wifi or needs specific libraries? Is the WiFi.h library sufficient?

If someone can give me a hand I would be really grateful.
Thank you.

Michele

change the firmware

Uno WiFi docs and Serial1 library

So it is obligatory to change firmware or it'possible to use <UnoWiFiDevEd.h> to permit Arduino to connect and send emai?
in the case in which we must install a new firmware, we have to install Expressif AT firmware or Wifi link firmware?

For the connection of Arduino we tried to use <UnoWiFiDevEd.h> ,but we have in output on the serial monitor value=0 therefor false,where is the error?

#include <UnoWiFiDevEd.h>

char ssid[]="X";
char pass[]="X";

int time=1000;

int wait=1000;

ArduinoWifiClass *wd=new ArduinoWifiClass();

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.println("Program started,waiting for router...");
delay(time);
Serial.println("Starting network module...");
wd->begin();
wd->connect(ssid,pass);

delay(2000);
Serial.println("Connecting...");

boolean value= wd->connected();
Serial.println(value);

}