Is it possible to connect several PIR output to one data input?

Hello I am new to Arduino.

I want to connect maybe 8 PIR motion sensors to one data input, is it possible? The PIR motion sensors will have their own 5V source.

The reason is that I want every spotlight outside my house to lit as soon as any of the PIR triggers, but I do not want to use many data ports because I want to use them to other things.

I attach picture of schematics with only 2 PIR connected.

All the PIRs I have are open collector so, yes, it is possible to have a shared signal.

Ok, thank you. I suspected it but I wanted to be sure :slight_smile:

The PIR's I have are certainly not... So that would create a dead short... You could use diodes and a pull resistor though. Depending on active low or active high a pull up or pull down resistor.

The PIR sensors in the Fritzing picture have a ~1k5 resistor in series with a digital 3.3volt output.
You can connect them safely in parallel, but you won't have enough voltage that way to drive an Arduino pin.
Same with a diode "OR". The diode drops to much, so the Arduino pin won't recognise <3volt as a HIGH.

Can't you use one digital input pin per PIR.
It's easy to combine them in software.

if (pir1 || pir2 || pir3 || pir4 ........) { // if one of the PIR sensors fires
// do something
}

If you run out of digital pins, use the analogue pins as digital pins.
Leo..

[quote author=Coding Badly date=1493061435 link=msg=3234185]
All the PIRs I have are open collector so, yes, it is possible to have a shared signal.[/quote]

septillion:
The PIR's I have are certainly not... So that would create a dead short... You could use diodes and a pull resistor though. Depending on active low or active high a pull up or pull down resistor.