Overvoltage on 3.3V - Duemilanove dead or just parts?

Hi,
I accidentally shorted the 3.3V pin to the 12V VIN
It draw about 500mA for several seconds.
I don't know which part got warm but it was arround the main voltage regulator.
My question now:
Is it completely dead or just parts? (5V reg, atmega..)
The program that was previously stored won't work, RX and TX flicker some times when I try to upload a program and the software says:
after binary sketch size:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

Do I have to buy a new one or is it repairable?

Edit: The Loopback test fails. Only the Rx led flickers.
The PC recognizes it and beeps.

Edit2:
Im a student with limited budget, the best would be if its just the atmega.. but I can't afford the time to order again if something different is broken :confused:

Im from Austria, does somebody know where to get the single ATMEGA 328 with arduino? (If its the right type?)
I don't have an IDE, whats the simplest way to burn a fresh atmega?
Aaaand if its probably not the atmega thats dead, where do I get a new duemilanove? (because this one was a present :/)

Thanks,
Max

You probably killed the FTDI chip, which is the source of the 3.3V on the Duemilnove. Not an easy part for a novice to replace.
Your best bet may be to unsolder the part anyway you can, and then use an external USB/Serial interface connected to the same pins (Rx, Tx, +5, Gnd and DTR)
such as
http://www.nkcelectronics.com/breakout-board-for-ft232rl-usb-to-ser232.html
http://www.nkcelectronics.com/ftdi-basic-breakout.html
or this with a slight mod
http://www.ebay.com/itm/CP2102-USB-2-0-to-UART-TTL-6PIN-Module-Serial-Converter-/130683943875?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1e6d5ebbc3
(cut trace going to RST header pin, add jumper from DTR hole to the pin instead)

Check farnell.com for Austria for parts, ATmega328P-PU.