Measuring sunlight intensity with BPW34 pin diode and Arduino UNO?

So first of all, I have limited experience with Arduino, electronics and the C++ language.

I want to be able to measure sunlight intensity with the miniature solar cellBPW34 https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9541, but I can't find any simple circuits or code to measure this with the Arduino Uno.

This is the closest we found to a circuit http://dptnt.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/Arduino_Smart_Flash_Trigger.png, I would like to know if we can only use the part of the circuit (on the left side) connected to BPW34 (R1, R2, C1, D1).

Thanks for your help.

That circuit is more than you need and will not work for steady state situations. Just use the diode and the 10K resistor (R1) and connect from the diode/resistor point (where C1 is now) to the Arduino ADC pin.

Edit: I'd be tempted to replace that 10K resistor with a 20K trimpot.

Here is a simple circuit that would read the voltage across the PiN.
BillO's trimpot idea has merit. These components don't generate much power and 10k might load it down.
I added a 0.01uF capacitor to stabilize the voltage a little. Try it with and without to see if it helps.

pin-diode_schem.jpg

Thank you for all your replies.

I'm also limited in parts, I don't have a 20k trimpot but I do have a 10k trimpot and a pack with a wide range of smaller resistors. Trimpot 10K Ohm with Knob - COM-09806 - SparkFun Electronics? and http://www.thesource.ca/estore/product.aspx?language=en-ca&catalog=online&category=Resistors&product=2719018. I also don't have a 0.01uF capacitor, the smallest I have is just 1uF, would these parts still work?

I can always order online, but that just means more money spent and I'm running behind on schedule.

And would this code work? http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ReadAnalogVoltage, if I just don't add the potentiometer and have the GND, 5v and A0 directly connected on the board?