Best PCB degign for beginner.

Hi everyone. I'm new to designing PCB's and want to know what is best free design software for a beginner to use. Looking at designing some arduino based boards. I haven't had much experience in designing boards before.
What would be the software that you would recommend a noob like me to get?

Thanks David.

I believe most would suggest "Eagle"
Search these forums, as others have ask this same question.

I found DipTrace -much- easier to learn than Eagle. Eagle is not simple to learn.

There is also the open source KiCAD, and ExpressPCB which is free but intended to be tied to one manufacturer of PCBs.

polymorph:
I found DipTrace -much- easier to learn than Eagle. Eagle is not simple to learn.

+1

Download the free version, watch their videos. You can send a design straight to PCB manufacturing from it too.

I used Eagle in the past ... but moved now to KiCad. It's real freeware without the limitations of the free version from Eagle. Aproach is a little bit different but not really more complicate then Eagle.

"Best" meaning what exactly? Easy to use? Capable? Free? Rock-solid reliable?
Portable to multiple OS's? Recognised by many PCB fabs? Has many parts libraries
available?

Many people support Eagle by providing libraries, for instance Sparkfun, but the free
version is limited to 8x10cm 2-layer.

You can cram a lot of stuff into 8cm x 10cm. Keeping board sizes under 10cm x 10cm also keeps board costs down. I try to design to fit into 10x10cm whenever I can. With SMD, you can get a ton! of stuff on a board.
Thruhole, 15 to 18 DIPs, varies with # of pins (14 to 20).
I enjoyed designing for 8x10cm because that was the size of Velleman ESC 1/2 Island of Hole protoboard. I figured if I could build it with wire wrap on that I could fit it on a PCB of the same size.

http://www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17/
15 DIPs, 9 transistors, 10 screw terminals:

13 with other parts:

Large DIP and SMD parts: