USB Host Shield 2.0

http://www.circuitsathome.com/store/usb-host-shield-2-0-released

The old forum thread about this shield is here -> http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,38137.0.html

The new shield is compatible with Megas and easier to use; I'm working on the next big revision of the library with hub support.

Enjoy!

1 Like

Hi,

I recently got this USB shield. I've downloaded the USB libraries from GitHub - felis/USB_Host_Shield_2.0: Revision 2.0 of USB Host Library for Arduino.
I intend to use it to interface with a sensor which has a USB interface and use the Arduino to send the data over USB to an Android phone.

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to building in new libraries for the Arduino.
Could you point me to anything on how to integrate the required software for the USB shield ?

Best Regards,
Richard

USB hubs have been supported for quite some time so it is possible to plug both your sensor and Android phone to the shield via a hub. Android phone (ADK) is supported in he code; it is also possible to connect a phone via Bluetooth using cheap BT dongle. Check this category for more info -> https://www.circuitsathome.com/category/mcu/arduino/usb-shield

Can you point me to any basic sketch example - I have the USB shield plugged into my Arduino as shown in the first figure. A sensor is plugged into the USB port from the shield - how do I address the USB port on the shield ?

I dropped the USB_Host_Shield libraries into my arduino\libraries directory (...\arduino-1.0.1-windows\arduino-1.0.1\libraries\USB_Host_Shield).

You don't need to worry about addressing. This sketch can be used to check if everything is put together correctly-> USB_Host_Shield_2.0/examples/USB_desc at master · felis/USB_Host_Shield_2.0 · GitHub

When I run the USB_Desc sketch I get:

"OSC did not start"

See the following photos