Simplest Battery Power to Arduino Nano Solution ?

Hello All,

I am a beginner when it comes to Arduino and electronics, but I've built a few projects on an Uno and am having fun with it.

Right now I have a project which is both an Altimeter as well as a Servo Parachute Release for my water rockets.

I think the Uno solution is working just fine and I am powering it with a 9v battery via the simple battery connector.

I want to look at moving to using a Nano to streamline the design and I am getting stuck at the powering of the Nano. I get that I need to provide power either via the mini USB or directly to the board in the form of battery power but all my searches lead me to project about recharging batteries and things that seem to complicate my simple needs.

Is there a simple tutorial that show how you can power a Nano with +/- 5v of power so that it can run a Servo and a BMP180 or BMP280 - the BMPs only need 3.3v. I've seen a few diagrams that show powering the servo with its own battery and the Nano with another ?

What I'd really love to see is what parts are needed as well as where the connection of these parts hook into the Nano. I'm fine to do a little soldering if that is needed. I have a couple of 9v battery connectors for the Uno - can I just clip off the connector and solder the red and black wires to +/gnd on the Nano ?

Appreciate any help the community can offer...

Cheers

1 Like

Hello there!

I looked up the specs on the Nano and it can be powered by placing 7-12 volts on the "Vin" pin and Ground on the "G" pin. Your 9V battery certainly meets this expectation.

Below is a picture of how you can power the board, as well as a snippet from the specifications page. All you would have to do is cut the small barrel from the end of the 9V battery snap so that the two wires are showing.

nanoPower.png

nanoPower.png

You can power the Nano with 3 x AA (or AAA) alkaline cells (4.5v) connected to the 5v pin.