Portenta H7 doesn't (or maybe it does) get recognized by Windows

Basically I have never worked with an Arduino before but I have a private project with RT needs so when the Portenta H7 was announced I did not waste any time and ordered one. It arrived yesterday and got me all excited but that came to a rather quick stop.

After hours of trying and fruitless googling I now decided to create a new post here:

Hardware is a Portenta H7 with an up-to-date Windows 10 installation. In the past hours I tried Arduino Ide, Arduino Pro IDE and VSC with the Microsoft Arduino extension, different USB-cables (though the one I use is able to transfer data from my smartphone, so I don't think it's a cable issue) and ports.

Basically I started with the Tutorial and got stuck between step 3 and 5. So in step 3 you have to verify the the connection. Needless to say the device did not show up as it should. But I decided to continue since the board appears in the tools port selection (picture 1). When trying to upload the sketch in the blue-green-blinky-mode (whatever that is) it spits out a massive error (error.txt). After that the LED-lights change from blue-green-blinky-mode to fading-green-mode (which is the bootloader mode if I learned that correctly).

2 things seem to change after that: the device manager suddenly shows some cryptic device name (picture 2). Note that the decive name also appears in the screenshot from the tutorial. Also the error I get when trying to upload a sketch shortens to the last section starting at dfu-util 0.9. Trying to install drivers on this cryptic device manually form the Arduino/drivers folder did not work.

I remember at some point Windows prompting me with a successful installation of the Portenta H7 but it does not show up in the device manager as mentioned.

Please help :slight_smile:

error.txt (8.26 KB)

picture 1.png

picture 2.png

Did you try the fix described in the "Troubleshooting" section of this tutorial?: