24vac solenoid valve activation with 3.3v arduino

Hello everyone.
The objective of the project is to activate 2 solenoid valves with an arduino nano 33 ble sense.

The valves specifications: 24VAC, 350mA start up consumption, 190 mA hold consumption.
I have a 2A, 220 to 24V AC power supply.

I'm using the attached circuit as startup reference.

So far i've chosen the first resistor as 220 ohm based on an activation current of 15 mA for the MOC3010.

Then I have no experience with TRIACs and would like to hear a suggestion for the choosing the model (i've checked and local market has BT137, BT138 and BT139, also TIC 206/216/226/236/246).

1. What would be the application differences between BTs and TICs?
  2. Cannot find in the MOC3010, the maximum output current, in order to select R20 and R19. Can you assist me in calculating these 2?
  3. Purpose of the TVS diode: Can this component be replaced by some other?

Thanks.

Can your 3.3V Arduino outputs supply 15mA? You may need a "helper" transistor. Don't forget to subtract the LEDs forward voltage (1.15V nominal) from 3.3V = 2.15 / 220 = 9.8mA.
I can't answer your triac question, but at that current, any of them should work. The TVS diode is needed for surge suppression.

I see a lot of SSRs, solid state relay, on Ebay that have a 24 vac lower limit. If your project was mine, I would go that way.

Paul

Solenoid with triac  optocoupler.png

JCA34F:
The TVS diode is needed for surge suppression.

Why would surge suppression be required when switched by a Triac?

JIC (just in case).

Your questions indicate that you have not used triacs and are learning about then.

Trying to control AC with DC can be difficult and the slightest mistake can get really exciting. If you think magic smoke is exciting.

If this is not a school assignment then using a device with isolation is highly recommended

SSR or icecube relay.

JCA34F: