Power Arduino Uno and Adafruit Motor Shield V2 From Single AC/DC Converter

I’m a complete noob to electronics / Arduino … and this forum.

I am building an ‘art project’ that once installed, will be unattended. Consequently it needs to be idiot proof. Simplified description is: a rotating drum on a stand.

Part One.

I have an Arduino Uno and Adafruit Motor Shield v2. Motor(s) are powered via screw terminals on the motor shield. I would like to power the Arduino and the motor shield from the same DC (mains) power supply.

Part Two.

I would like to be able to switch the whole thing on / off at the mains. I don't want to use the socket as that may not be practical, I need a switch on the stand of the device. Somebody needs to turn this thing off at night and know its dead (and safe)

Questions.

1. Spec of the DC converter. Max voltage of both Arduino and motor shield is 12v. Max amperage of Arduino is 50mA (?) max amperage of motor shield is 3A. So power supply of 12v 3.05A (amps can be more as what I don't need wont be used) Correct?

NOTE: currently I am using a 12v 350mA stepper motor. This may change, my question is really concerned with the overall logic here.

1. From what I have read, the best way to power the Arduino is via the DC socket? It would be more practical to use vin, is that possible - what’s the difference (socket has reverse diode) ?

2. I can connect the Arduino and motor shield in parallel from the power supply as specified above? Correct ?

3. I can switch power on / off to the whole setup by inserting a switch between the dc converter and the mains wall socket ( I know this is obvious, I’m checking for gotchas )

Link to Adafruit Motor Shield v2(apparently these aren't a thing here so I attached screen grabs also)

Attached:

1. A diagram
  2. Arduino spec screen grabbed from website
  3. Adafruit motor shield v2 spec grabbed from website
  4. Screen grab of motor driver chip datasheet.
  5. Stepper Motor datasheet