Arduino Forum

Forum 2005-2010 (read only) => Hardware => Interfacing => Topic started by: FourthDr on Mar 19, 2010, 09:48 pm

Title: Purpose of Q1 on Xbee Shield, is it needed?
Post by: FourthDr on Mar 19, 2010, 09:48 pm
Hi:

I'm trying to get my adruino + xbee shield to allow me to wirelessly update the arduino code. I was looking at the schemetics and wondering if Q1 is really needed. Does anyone know the purpose of Q1 and whether or not it is really a needed/required for the shield to work properly?

Regards-
Title: Re: Purpose of Q1 on Xbee Shield, is it needed?
Post by: Grumpy_Mike on Mar 22, 2010, 03:21 pm
Q1 will allow pin 12 to perform a reset. Yes you need it.
Title: Re: Purpose of Q1 on Xbee Shield, is it needed?
Post by: FourthDr on Mar 25, 2010, 10:57 am
Doesn't the xbee rest itself on power up? And doesn't the Arduino reset itself also? I'm trying to follow the tutorial here: http://www.ladyada.net/make/xbee/arduino.html  and they use a transistor on xbee pin DIO3 to reset the arduino during code update. Won't that conflict with the xbee shield's Q1?