Arduino Forum

Using Arduino => Installation & Troubleshooting => Topic started by: jsmrcaga on Jul 19, 2013, 11:30 pm

Title: Arduino pin always HIGH
Post by: jsmrcaga on Jul 19, 2013, 11:30 pm
Hi everyone!
I'm having a little problem here. I was testing a project which would fire a flash when light recognized.
The problem is that I believe I made the conection to the wrong side and fried my pin n* 7. It is now always HIGH. I uploaded a blinking code to all pins, and every single pin blinks but the n* 7.

I had the same problem a while ago with two or three pins, but it fixed itself. Now it won't.
Does anyone know why or how to fix it?
I don't have a multimeter, so can't test with it, I'm only testing with a led to GND.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Arduino pin always HIGH
Post by: MLeBlanc on Jul 20, 2013, 02:57 am
You're probably right about frying the pin. It happens sometimes. You'll have to replace it. Assuming your Arduino uses the ATMEGA328 chip, when you order the replacement, just make sure you get it with the boot loader already burned-in.
Title: Re: Arduino pin always HIGH
Post by: nickgammon on Jul 20, 2013, 09:36 am

I don't have a multimeter, so can't test with it, I'm only testing with a led to GND.


And a resistor? If so, what value? If not, that's why the pin is fried.
Title: Re: Arduino pin always HIGH
Post by: retrolefty on Jul 20, 2013, 04:41 pm
Quote
I don't have a multimeter, so can't test with it, I'm only testing with a led to GND.


I would strongly recommend you do obtain a multimeter immediately, it's an essential tool for working with arduino projects and will help immensely with learning the basic electronics one needs to be successful with their arduino projects. They can be had very inexpensively and it will return great dividends for you.

Lefty
Title: Re: Arduino pin always HIGH
Post by: jsmrcaga on Jul 20, 2013, 05:22 pm
Yeah, I know, I've just been lazy.
Thank you!
Title: Re: Arduino pin always HIGH
Post by: jsmrcaga on Jul 20, 2013, 05:24 pm

You're probably right about frying the pin. It happens sometimes. You'll have to replace it. Assuming your Arduino uses the ATMEGA328 chip, when you order the replacement, just make sure you get it with the boot loader already burned-in.


I'll have to replace what? My chip?  have a Leonardo, I can't replace my chip :/ Thank you for the answer, I still have 12 pins left ^^