Arduino Forum

Topics => Robotics => Topic started by: Proxy1337 on Oct 13, 2015, 10:45 am

Title: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: Proxy1337 on Oct 13, 2015, 10:45 am
I want to use my Arduino Uno for programming a robotic arm for my school project.
The robotic arm that I will use is the C-S 113. The Arm will have to draw an equation on paper.
Will Arduino Uno handle this or should I upgrade to a more powerful one?
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: PaulS on Oct 13, 2015, 11:59 am
Quote
Will Arduino Uno handle this or should I upgrade to a more powerful one?
How much power do you need? How many watts?
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: OldSteve on Oct 13, 2015, 12:44 pm
I want to use my Arduino Uno for programming a robotic arm for my school project.
The robotic arm that I will use is the C-S 113. The Arm will have to draw an equation on paper.
Will Arduino Uno handle this or should I upgrade to a more powerful one?
From a programming point-of-view, your UNO will be fine.
Just don't supply power to the arm directly from the UNO board. Those stepper motors would suck a fair bit of current.

Actually, I just read (the power supply section of) the pdf on the arm and it has it's own power supply, so you're good-to-go. The PSU supplies 6A for the steppers.
That looks like a pretty nice arm - wish I had one. :)
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: Proxy1337 on Oct 13, 2015, 01:42 pm
Actually, I just read (the power supply section of) the pdf on the arm and it has it's own power supply, so you're good-to-go.

Could you please tell me were you found that pdf?
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: OldSteve on Oct 13, 2015, 01:53 pm
Could you please tell me were you found that pdf?
I did a search on "Pro Arm RS2200". I got other interesting results as well as the manual.

The pdf Manual:-
Pro Arm RS-2200 Manual (http://www.theoldrobots.com/book72/RS-2200_Pro-Arm_Robotics.pdf)

And the general search results:-
Pro Arm RS-2200 Search (https://www.google.com.au/?gws_rd=ssl#q=pro+arm+rs+2200+manual)
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: Proxy1337 on Oct 13, 2015, 02:18 pm
I did a search on "Pro Arm RS2200". I got other interesting results as well as the manual.

The pdf Manual:-
Pro Arm RS-2200 Manual (http://www.theoldrobots.com/book72/RS-2200_Pro-Arm_Robotics.pdf)

And the general search results:-
Pro Arm RS-2200 Search (https://www.google.com.au/?gws_rd=ssl#q=pro+arm+rs+2200+manual)

Thank you very much.
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: OldSteve on Oct 13, 2015, 02:32 pm
Thank you very much.
No problem. Glad to help.
Have fun. :)
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: dante_wzj on Oct 15, 2015, 06:06 pm
This web will help you.
http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-a-Laser-Cut-and-Soldering-Dobot-arm/
Use arduino mega 2560
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: OldSteve on Oct 15, 2015, 06:34 pm
This web will help you.
http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-a-Laser-Cut-and-Soldering-Dobot-arm/
Use arduino mega 2560
He already has a perfectly good robot arm, so why would he want to pay for a laser-cut one? And he'll be using a UNO, not a Mega2560. He already has the UNO, so why buy a Mega?
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: Proxy1337 on Oct 22, 2015, 01:30 pm
He already has a perfectly good robot arm, so why would he want to pay for a laser-cut one? And he'll be using a UNO, not a Mega2560. He already has the UNO, so why buy a Mega?
Will the UNO have enough pins for my project?
I want to use my ramps 1.4 with it.
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: OldSteve on Oct 22, 2015, 01:47 pm
Will the UNO have enough pins for my project?
I want to use my ramps 1.4 with it.
I've never used ramps or the robot arm, so your guess would be better than mine. Just draw a schematic, work out how many pins it needs, and if it's 19 or less the UNO will do it, otherwise you'll need an expansion board or a Mega.
Actually, I thought a RAMPS board needed a Mega anyway. Check the RAMPS documentation.
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: MarkT on Oct 22, 2015, 02:33 pm
RAMPS is a Mega shield.
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: OldSteve on Oct 23, 2015, 02:38 am
RAMPS is a Mega shield.
Thanks for confirming that Mark. I thought it was, but wasn't sure.
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: abhineetsharma20 on Oct 23, 2015, 01:36 pm
Hi, We are a group of people teaching robotics to students by the name RoboSpecies Technologies Pvt. Ltd. We also have an online store by the name RoboShop.in. One of our students who is just 10 years old made this dancing Robot: Do check out and leave comment.

Dancing Robot using Arduino: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lt9BoopQEm0

RoboSpecies: http://www.robospecies.com/
RoboShop.in: http://www.roboshop.in/
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: sezgin on Oct 30, 2015, 05:15 pm
This 5 axis robotic arm only 50 $ http://www.robimek.com/el-hareketleriyle-kontol-edilen-robot-kol/  (http://www.robimek.com/el-hareketleriyle-kontol-edilen-robot-kol/)
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: glub0x on Oct 31, 2015, 07:27 am
Will the UNO have enough pins for my project?
I want to use my ramps 1.4 with it.
I used a shield from adafruit to control steppers they use only 2 pins (SDA & SCL) on the arduino to control up to 64 stepper ( if you stack them ).

That being said, i fried the shield with a NEM17 because it is limited to 1.2A so i won't recommend them, but that mean that it is possible, you just have to find the right shield OR build it

Also you have to check if RAMPS use the SDA or SCL pin
Title: Re: Arduino with a robotic arm
Post by: Niels_X on Nov 03, 2015, 10:20 am
Hi,if you want to diy a robot arm,this web will help you:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-a-multi-controlled-high-precision-desktop-ro/
If you want to buy one, please click hereļ¼š
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/dobot/dobot-robotic-arm-for-everyone-arduino-and-open-so