Arduino Forum

Products => Create => Chrome App => Topic started by: FrankSchmidt on Oct 11, 2018, 02:37 pm

Title: Won't give me a port choice , dev tty....
Post by: FrankSchmidt on Oct 11, 2018, 02:37 pm
I just now bought this app. on-line for my Samusng Chromebook. I plug in the A G Uno and the app. mandates port # "dev.tty..."  It will not let me change board choice. This system does not work as does the Arduino IDE off-line. Any suggestions as to how i can correct the port choice?  Thx.
Title: Re: Won't give me a port choice , dev tty....
Post by: pert on Oct 12, 2018, 12:42 am
DON'T CROSS POST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I HAVE REPORTED THIS THREAD TO THE MODERATORS

Duplicate posts waste the time of the people helping you. I might spend 15 minutes writing a detailed answer on this thread, without knowing that someone already did the same in the other thread. This behavior is very disrespectful to the people you're asking for assistance. Just because we give our time freely doesn't mean it has no value.

In the future, take some time to pick the forum section that best suits the topic of your question and then only post once to that forum section. This is basic forum etiquette, which you would already know if you had bothered reading the sticky "How to use this forum - please read. (http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=148850.0)" post you will find at the top of every forum section. It contains a lot of other useful information. Please read it.
Title: Re: Won't give me a port choice , dev tty....
Post by: FrankSchmidt on Oct 12, 2018, 01:08 pm
Here's another hint. When trying to select a board choice, the choice, when clicked on does not got to the choice box. NOT to the choice box. Several clicks and copies are needed to put the board choice in the sketch. During this process a note is given : "Waiting for Facebook.com"  .    Still I am not given a COM port choice and am assigned "..dev.ttyXXX"  X may be USB1 or some other designation which does not work .

Ideas?
Title: Re: Won't give me a port choice , dev tty....
Post by: ballscrewbob on Oct 12, 2018, 03:16 pm
Your other duplicate post REMOVED.   >:(

Title: Re: Won't give me a port choice , dev tty....
Post by: jmcilkley on Oct 12, 2018, 09:59 pm
It seems that the chromebook create does not cope with clone Uno boards that don't work on port 1. I have tried several different boards on both chromebook and IDE on a windows10 pc. The common thread for boards that don't work on chromebook create is that on the windows IDE they choose port 4 rather than port 1.
It seems that some of the Uno clones aren't quite compatible enough for chromebooks!