Go Down

Topic: Logic Controller - Convert Pulsing Input To PWM Output - Help (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

The_Doc

Sep 17, 2013, 06:39 pm Last Edit: Sep 17, 2013, 06:41 pm by The_Doc Reason: 1
Good day to you all.

I have a problem I'd like some help with, and I'm hoping you guys can be of assistance.

Firstly, please be patient with me, as I'm very new to any sort of programming and the learning curve is proving to be more of a mountain at the moment.

I have a machine which has a safety warning system. The warning system comprises of a single, two colour (red/green) LED. When the sensors detect a problem, the LED flashes orange, (red/green flashing simultaneously), and when the problem becomes critical, the status LED flashes red. The LED flashes at a frequency of approximately once per second, with a duty cycle of approximately 50% and the flashing is controlled via a control board, which sends an intermittent +3.3V signal to the LED.

I'm attempting to use an Arduino as a logic controller, to convert the signals to the LED to a PWM output to control the position of a servo motor... i.e, if the green and red (orange) are flashing at the same time, or neither are flashing, then send a PWM signal to position the servo at position 'A' and if the red is flashing alone, then send a PWM signal to position the servo at position 'B'.

I'm finally getting my head around controlling the servo but the logic and programming behind the rest is proving too much for me.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

PeterH