Go Down

Topic: Energy Measurement (Read 2081 times) previous topic - next topic

noblevirk

Hello Everyone,

I am an Electrical Engineering student and an extreme newbie to Arduino who wants to implement it in my school project. So far I have atmega328p board and Atmega1280 (just for back up if I run out of space).

The project I want to implement is a remotely controllable power outlet capable of storing energy usage on a SD card. Basically there are four major blocks of this project

1) Energy measurement
2) Communication mechanism (This is RF based)
3) Energy Storage on storage device.
4) User interface (LCD and bunch of buttons)

1) Energy measurement is performed by CS5460A chip from cirrus logic and the Irms, Vrms and is available through SPI.

2) A RF remote which have a control switch and send the signal through a RF Transreceiver TI CC2520 to the micro, which in turn control relays to control the power. this transreceiver  also communicate wit micro through SPI

3) Energy data storage will have a simple CSV file with time and energy usage.

4) As the energy storage data needs to have some sort of time reference to create a simple energy usage map for example (1:00AM - 2:00AM = 12 Kwh). Thus there must be a mechanism for setting up the clock through simple switches (just like the digital clocks) to increment and decrement the digits. Thus setting year, month, day, hour, minutes.

I am not sure whether it is a good idea to implement this clock in software or to use a real-time-hardware clocks (I was unaware of these until past hr). As the micro will be in a loop of SPI communications pretty much all the time, I don't know how to run an accurate parallel clock that increments its variables as the time progress.

So please present any other ideas/ways-to-implement in order to provide an accurate clock to the project. I am going to research more on the Hardware-based clock and their usage until then.