Go Down

Topic: Electromagnetic interference? (Read 4578 times) previous topic - next topic

exceleronsports

Hello!  Big Arduino fan here with a mind boggling problem that I'm hoping someone more experienced than myself can solve.  Admittedly, I'm not great with electronics, but I am a software engineer by trade so I have just enough technical expertise to be dangerous.  My issue is related to some strange behaviour we've seen with our weather balloon tracker (http://overlookhorizon.com) that seems to inexplicable fail on all our recent flights.  My latest theory is that we have some electromagnetic interference that is occurring with our setup perhaps?  Here's what's happening:

• The tracker worked fine prior to the introduction of the cameras and camera battery packs.
  • The tracker works perfectly when connected inside and/or outside of our payload box and with USB power input
  • The tracker works when connected outside the payload box with battery power
  • The tracker works when inside the payload box with used batteries, nearing end-of-life
  • The tracker fails, loses GPS signal, and occasionally "freezes" the Arduino when inside the payload box with brand new batteries
  • The tracker works when inside the payload box, with brand new batteries, IF the camera batteries are turned OFF (see diagram, below)
  • The moment the camera batteries are turned ON, the tracker will lose GPS signal, even if already  acquired.  Also, the moment you turn OFF the camera battery packs, GPS signal is reacquired almost immediately.
  • Unproven, but in our recent flight, we had a backup external GPS unit that was completely unconnected to the Arduino.  This also could not receive GPS coordinates after landing (only expected to work at ground level).  Once the camera battery pack died, though, it acquired a good GPS signal.