Go Down

Topic: ANALOG control of RGB LED ~WITH~ LCD/keypad shield (Read 3520 times) previous topic - next topic

prosper50

Hi Everyone! I'm a newb, so please excuse this question if it is very basic.

I would LIKE to use a keypad shield on my Arduino Duemilanove in order to control a Radio Shack RGB LED (actually, two RGB LEDs) - #276-0028 (I believe they are common-anode). For example, I would like to assign one color to the "up" button on the shield, another color for the "down", etc. I would also like to assign a fading function to the "selection" button which would slowly wipe through all possible colors. I would like BOTH LEDs to respond identically, at the same time.

I have been through several tutorials, and I see that most people use PWM to work with RGB LEDs. However, since the keypad shield uses several of the pins that other individuals have assigned to the LED, I am at a bit of a loss. I have read one or two examples of analog control of an RGB LED, but again, I am new so I really don't know how to proceed. In reading through some of the analog control examples, I'm sure the solution will involve the usual transistors, resistors, etc.

If anyone has ANY suggestions, it would be appreciated. In particular, I would greatly appreciate any circuit diagrams for the potential LED pinout (in consideration of the LCD shield). Also, any sample analog RGB LED code would also be appreciated!!! I have already configured the LCD shield software with the button-driven menus and displays that I need. At this point, I just need to plug in the appropriate code for the LED portion (as well as how to wire it in).

Again, ANY contributions would be appreciated!! Thank you so much!!

-Dave

PaulS

Now that you've made you first post, you can post links. This would be a good time to take advantage of that new capability. Which keypad shield are you talking about? Keypads don't generally come in shield format.
The art of getting good answers lies in asking good questions.