Go Down

Topic: traction drive and steer concept (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

brywisco

Hi, please be forewarned that I am a complete newbie to arduino and am a mechanical engineer with just enough electrical knowledge to be dangerous. I am looking for some feedback to see if the arduino is something I might consider for an industrial control scenario.

That said, I am working on a design concept for a system to move loads that are on carts with casters. My idea is to use a single wheel that will both drive and steer the load. Picture a unicycle with 1 motor driving the wheel and a 2nd motor driving rotation of the seat-post. I hope that makes sense....
One vision I have is that the operator would use a 2-axis joystick to control the system. The drive wheel will always start from a 'home' position and we can define this as the wheel is pointed at 12 O'clock. If the operator simply wants to move the load straight forward, then he pushes the joystick straight forward and then fwd rotation power is applied to the wheel with no steering required. If a turn is initiated via joystick while the load is in motion, the steering motor would rotate the post to the required angle while the traction wheel is still doing its thing.
Now suppose the load is fully stopped and the wheel is back to the 12 O'clock steering home position. The operator now needs to pivot the load hard to the right (no fwd movement) so he/she pushes the joystick to the 3 O'clock position. In this case I picture that the steering motor would need to drive the wheel around to like the 3 O'clock position and THEN fwd drive could be applied to the traction motor.