Go Down

Topic: Trigger for Serial Control (Read 205 times) previous topic - next topic

avgod

I'm new to Arduino - as in, five minutes new.

I'm looking for a programmer for what I believe will be a VERY simple implementation.
  • I plan to connect two (2) momentary switches to the Arduino Analog inputs (A0 and A1).
  • Any time A0 is triggered, I want to send a particular serial command (SOURCE: HDMI 1) via the D0Rx and D0Tx to the serial port of a device.
  • Any time A1 is triggered, I want to send a particular serial command (SOURCE: HDMI 2) via the D0Rx and D0Tx to the serial port of the same device.

I'd like somebody familiar with both Arduino and serial control. The device being controlled is a Samsung TV (actually, two of them, different models.

Attached are manual excerpts relating to RS-232 serial control.

Bainesbunch

Interesting that you have concluded that this is a "VERY" simple implementation considering your self confessed exposure of only 5 minutes to the arduino environment.

Do you have a budget. I may be interested.
EmbeddedAT .. From Concept to Prototype to Production
Electronics and firmware design and project mentoring
I do answer personal requests for help when accompanied with a PayPal receipt ;)

blimpyway

Mar 06, 2019, 11:46 pm Last Edit: Mar 06, 2019, 11:58 pm by blimpyway
avgod - don't take bainesbunch's reply as .. harsh.

He's got a point, yeah, the problem is generally simple, but it requires some non trivial knowledge on figuring out what those papers actually say and where from to source nowadays a ttl to 232 level adjuster.  Yeah max232 but you can't just plug in an IC in, it needs a PCB or some wires or passives soldered in..

So a suggestion for both, can you find/produce the remote control (IR codes)  to remote-control it from arduino instead of wiring it? (it is also more flexible from positioning/placement of the arduino circuitry POV)

===============