Go Down

Topic: Ultrasonic Sensor using Uart Serial Communication? (Read 184 times) previous topic - next topic

JugglingPro

Mar 14, 2019, 05:43 am Last Edit: Mar 14, 2019, 06:00 am by JugglingPro
Hi everyone!

I have some decent experience tinkering with Arduino using simple digital and analog pins, but I've never dealt with a sensor that uses a communication protocol like UART serial communication.

I've followed some of the examples around the forums, but it seems as if the SoftwareSerial library is mostly for sensors that have both RX and TX lines. My sensor is odd in the sense that there is only a transmit line, therefore it seems like the Arduino is always reading data from it. The datasheet from the sensor in question.

I'm currently just reading the raw data from the sensor in binary format, using the code below and the single output pin connected to digital 10 (TX pin 11 is just not plugged in).

Code: [Select]

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial mySerial(10, 10); // RX, TX
byte reading; 

void setup() {
  mySerial.begin(9600);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  if (mySerial.available() > 0){
    reading = mySerial.read();
    Serial.println(reading, BIN);
  }
}

The datasheet says that with a baud rate of 9600, a complete 'message' should be 4 bytes long: a start signal 0xFF, a 8 bit signal, another 8 bit signal, and finally a stop signal 0xFF. Looking at my serial monitor, the output looks like:

Two questions from this:
1. Why is mySerial.available() > 0 required? The datasheet says the baud rate for signals is 9600, doesn't that mean no matter what comes out of the serial monitor, it will be in the format start_data_data_stop? It seems that here, the start bit is sent a bunch of times before a complete 'data transfer' is done.