Go Down

Topic: How to call .step() using randomized steps and mills() instead of delay() (Read 54 times) previous topic - next topic

mohajir2

Hello!

I am a senior university student and have been working on a capstone project using a stepper motor to turn a block quarter and half turns. I am using a NEMA 17 bipolar stepper motor (200 steps per revolution) with the arduino rev3 motor shield. The stepper turns a 4 sided rectangular block.  A constant power supply runs 12V to the motor through the shield and 5V to power the arduino uno (when not plugged into a usb port). I have learned quite a bit over the semester and have had success in using the delay function to get the stepper to move from face to face consistently and accurately. I can get this to work successfully, but using the delay function is cumbersome and will not translate well when performing hundreds of randomized turns.

300-600 turns need to occur with roughly 8 seconds in between turns: 6 seconds static, 2 sec window for movement. The movement is far quicker than that (~250 ms for a full rotation) but still must occur within that window.

The final prototype will have 2 arduinos, 2 motor shields, and 2 motors synced to physically move to a set position in an xy plane (hold 6 seconds), physically move out to another set position in that xy plane, rotate to a given face within a 2 second window, and physically move back into that original position in that xy plane.

I want to simplify the code as much as possible so there aren't 600-1200 lines in the void loop and utilize the mills() function to read the elapsed time instead of using the delay function as a timer between turns.

I want to also simultaneously provide feedback for the elapsed time and corresponding block face in the serial monitor.
I have been able to do this, but once again, the code is manually entered at the moment for EVERY GIVEN ROTATION.