Go Down

Topic: Help troubleshooting an IR Breakbeam circuit (Read 146 times) previous topic - next topic

abasel

Apr 16, 2019, 09:47 am Last Edit: Apr 16, 2019, 09:48 am by abasel
This is my first attempt at what for myself,  I would call a more advanced circuit (i.e. given experience so far :) ).

I have tried copying the following design: https://circuitdigest.com/electronic-circuits/ir-transmitter-and-receiver-circuit.

When I switch it on the LED flashes on and the goes off. After a while LED flickers on for a short period and then goes off.  This then continues like this intermittently. If I put an obstruction between the IR LED and receiver while the LED is shining, the LED goes off indicating that the IR Receiver and IR LED are working.

The video show what I mean. It is not easy to see the LED light up on switch on but the rest can be seen from about 35 seconds onward: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6f-JRoWM4Q

Could this simply be a cold joint issue on the breadboard or should I experiment with capacitors?

As I finish writing this I realise that both circuits are being powered from the same 5.5V supply; could this be the problem?

Grumpy_Mike

As I finish writing this I realise that both circuits are being powered from the same 5.5V supply; could this be the problem?
No.
The IR receiver is really a crap circuit drawn by a total idiot.

The chip itself is not designed to be used as a barrier detector but as a way of sending data. Go giving it a continuous burst of modulated IR will at first work but soon stop working.

After a while LED flickers on for a short period and then goes off
Which is exactly what I would expect from that receiver chip.

wvmarle

Sure? One circuit tells you're using a 9V supply, the other 5V. That implies two different power sources, neither at 5.5V.

And that BC557 is drawn upside-down.