Go Down

Topic: Help with digital potentiometer (Read 491 times) previous topic - next topic

YaaqobhPT

Apr 18, 2019, 07:45 pm Last Edit: Apr 18, 2019, 07:50 pm by YaaqobhPT
Hello Guys!
I'm on a project right now and I'm facing a problem that I cant solve....

I need with an arduino to do a digital potenciometer, so with the arduino I can increase and decrease the resistance so that I can filter the resistance in (0%->100%).
How I can do that since the corrent and the Voltage is so high?
(In "RESISTOR" the voltage must be always the same(60-65V), but the resistence will variate project to project)

DVDdoug

Right...   A digital pot won't handle the voltage or current.  That looks like a difficult project!    I have a lot of electronics experience and education but to build something like that I'd have to do a lot of study and experimentation (and possibly blow some parts along the way :D ).

What's the purpose?   i.e. Can you use voltage or current control rather than trying to control/set the resistance?

Is that an actual transformer (with AC output) or is it DC power supply?  Is the output voltage 65V, or is that voltage across the fixed/load resistor?

You might be able to do something with MOSFETs and optical isolators, but opto-isolators are not linear.   And if it's AC you'd need complimentary MOSFETs/circuits to handle voltage & current in both directions.

YaaqobhPT

Apr 18, 2019, 08:29 pm Last Edit: Apr 18, 2019, 08:31 pm by YaaqobhPT
So the "Resistor" its a material that changes the color of a glass with current and to have the full effect must have ~65V. The thing is that each project will be diferent because each project will have a diferent area, so diferents areas(diferents resistances) will have diferents transformers so that we can provide enough corrent to have ~65V.
The transformer will be AC to DC.

DrAzzy

Apr 18, 2019, 09:59 pm Last Edit: Apr 18, 2019, 10:07 pm by DrAzzy