Go Down

Topic: Can anyone tell me exactly what sort of NodeMCU this is? (Read 192 times) previous topic - next topic

NNPD

Apr 19, 2019, 08:40 am Last Edit: Apr 19, 2019, 08:49 am by NNPD Reason: Adding a photo
This came as part of a caterpillar tracks set without any instructions. Here is the listing for the item it came with if that helps:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07MW2N35F/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_image_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

If you can give me the exact name of the NodeMCU unit that would be a great start for me, although a link to some instructions would be even better.

I have no knowledge or experience with Arduino or NodeMCU. I bought the caterpillar tracks to use as part of a robot building project with my son using Raspberry Pi. I've been told by a supposed expert that this product should work with a Raspberry Pi, but that the tracks should only work in combination with the NodeMCU control, and that it would only be possible to use the NodeMCU control if I can find out exactly what kind it is and obtain the relevant instructions!

Many thanks for any help you can give!

DrAzzy

What detail do you need? That looks like a bog standard NodeMCU...
ATTinyCore for x4/x5/x61/x7/x8/x41/1634/828/x313 megaTinyCore for the megaavr ATtinies - Board Manager:
http://drazzy.com/package_drazzy.com_index.json
ATtiny breakouts, mosfets, awesome prototyping board in my store http://tindie.com/stores/DrAzzy

NNPD

Good, good I'm learning :) thank you!

Okay, so it sounds like you're saying I heard wrong - and in fact these devices are pretty much all the same. So I guess I should just look up instructions or a tutorial for ESP8266? That's what seems to come up generally when I type NodeMCU into Google. Like I said, I have zero knowledge or experience with this stuff.