Go Down

Topic: Auto Guitar Tuner (Read 150 times) previous topic - next topic

rfarnes

Apr 24, 2019, 09:33 am Last Edit: Apr 24, 2019, 09:36 am by rfarnes
I am totally new to arduino coding, and I already know that this project is over my head, but I am stuck with it as it is for a class.
For the project, a guitar note is selected which the correct frequency on the aruidno,  a MAX4466 microphone picks up the sound from the guitar string when strumming the guitar note, it send this input to the arudino to tell it if the note is to high or too low for the selected note, then a motor will turn the tuning nut until the note is tuned and a LED light will come on to tell me the note is in the correct frequency range.
My questions are:
Does the MAX4466 microphone pick up the frequency of the guitar or just the sound without the frequency?
If it is just the sound, what do I need to tell the arudino for it to figure out the frequency of this sound so it can tell the motor what to do?
Currently, the code I created, the microphone can't pick up the guitar notes coming in and the lights will only come on by having my phone right up to the microphone.
Any advice is appreciated, my teacher and teacher assistants are not very helpful at this point.
Below is what I  have for just the frequency and light portion of the code:
// Note frequencies
// NOTE_E2 82.41
// NOTE_A3 220
// NOTE_D3 146.83
// NOTE_G3 196
// NOTE_B3 246.94
// NOTE_E4 329.63
///Turns on the LED according to sound level recorded by the sound or microphone sensor.

int led1 = 2;

int led2 = 3;

int led3 = 4;

int led4 = 5;

int led5 = 6;

int led6 = 7;

int sensorPin = A0; // input pin for the sensor

int sensorval = 0; // variable for the value coming from the sensor

// the setup routine runs once when you press reset:

void setup() { // initialize the digital pin as an output.

pinMode(led1,OUTPUT); //Note E2 green1 right most side

pinMode(led2,OUTPUT); //Note D3 white

pinMode(led3,OUTPUT); //Note G3 blue