Go Down

Topic: Burning a Bootloader using AVR Studio 4 & Pololu AVR programmer (Read 2434 times) previous topic - next topic

bpospick

Ok, I'm a newbie and could use help in making sense of burning bootloaders.

I built a board with a brand new ATmega328P [in hopes of making a Duemilanove-like Arduino from scratch].  Using the instructions on the Arduino.cc website to burn the bootloader using a known good Duemilanove, resulted in lots of frustration - cryptic error messages.  Called an engineer friend who brought over his oscilloscope and found that the virgin 328P wasn't oscillating since the fuses had yet to be burned.  Using AVR Studio 4 and a Pololu AVR programmer (emulates a AVRISP v2 according to their website) we were able to get it to make squiggly lines on the scope - it's now oscillating!  One step closer ...

Now I'm confused as to the next steps.  There are dozens of tutorials on the web, but the more I read, the more I get confused. Partly because my board isn't exactly like the tutorials, or the tutorial uses a different programmer. HW:  328P, 16 MHz resonator, will eventually link to a FT232RL to be just like a Duemilanove.

The boards.txt file in the arduino-1.0/hardware/arduino directory describes the fuses, lock bits, and the hex file (ATmegaBOOT_168_atmega328.hex) for the bootloader.  Can I just takes this hex file and upload it using the AVR Studio 4 & the AVRISP programmer? If so, what are the steps?  NB:  I'm paranoid about smoke testing or permanently locking another uC.

The fuse settings shown in the Read command (AVR Studio) don't exactly match what's listed in the boards.txt file.  I've tried to match them, but can't find any reference to the "unlock" bits in the 328P manual.  Any thoughts?

If there is a simpler way to load the bootloader and set the fuses, please let me know.

Coding Badly

Does this help...
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,61776.0.html

bpospick