Go Down

Topic: Arduino vs standalone microcotroller programming (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

cmd1024

Apr 10, 2012, 01:50 am Last Edit: Apr 10, 2012, 01:51 am by cmd1024 Reason: 1
Hi,

I am quite new in the field. I hope my question does not bother you all. Arduino is great to program and use. But if i need to produce standalone micro-controller(e.g in the case of manufacturing a device) i guess i need to know pic programming, C language, programmer kit ect.

1) Arduino is not using C.
2) Using Arduino board i can not program any PIC microcontrollers or ect.

My question is that if i make a device and can not use Arduino for the ultimate goal, it means i also have to learn pic programming and many other aspects? Is Arduino just for testing your ideas rather than implementing them for standalone use.

Thanks,

graynomad

Arduino is not using C.

Yes it is, C or C++, absolutely bog standard.

Using Arduino board i can not program any PIC microcontrollers or ect.

PIC programming has nothing to do with Arduino as it uses AVR chips. Totally different product line, PIC are made by Microchip, AVRs by Atmel. All official Arduinos use AVR chips.

You can easily use an "Arduino" without using the whole board, the simplest method is just remove the chip (if it's a DIP) after programming and plug it into your PCB. But you can use AVR Studio to program any AVR and you can (AFAIK) also just burn the HEX file produced by the Arduino AVR using a ISP programmer. Certainly I've burnt bootloaders that way.

Search for "standalone Arduino" there are 100s of examples.

______
Rob
Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

kf2qd

For a standalone device (not using the Arduino PCB) you can use a 328P that has the bootloader and program that chip in the Arduino board and remove the chip and install it on your own board. Or you can use the ArduinoISP program and load a program directly to an AVR chip directly.