How to read more Buttons than pins avaliable?

Hi,

pobably the solution is already posted in the forum but I couldn't find it.

I have 10 buttons but only 7 digital Pins (no analog in or output is left). They will not be pressed at the same time.

It should be possible to code these buttons onto 4 pins (16 possible combinations) or even in serial.
I thought about using diods to code them. But maybe there is a nicer solution. What would you use? Maybe a shift register or some kind of IC?

Do you have an recomendation or example?

I guess using two shift register like the 74hc595 and four buttons. But I'm a pretty NooB with electronics :blush:

3 x 4 matrix?

A very simple solution is to use a voltage divider. Switches (buttons) are connected to points on the divider and the voltage on the output of the switch is read using analogRead. That value is mapped to a value of the number of switches you have then switch case is used for control.

A helpful previous post:http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1226896251

• Scotty

additional pins via I2C e.g. - Centipede Shield V2 - Macetech Electronics Store -

cheapest is AWOL's suggestion: - Arduino Playground - KeypadTutorial -

Yes, a matrix would be easy and it will work. Just create a simple truth table for your pins and have the Arduino read the pins as inputs( of course).
If the input pins equal X then it must be button X that was pressed.
BCD basically. I'm doing it with a dip switch right now on a project I built. It reads the dip switch and determines a fixed time for a timing cycle.

Wire your buttons in a 3x4 matrix, then use the keypad driver to read them. See Arduino Playground - Keypad Library.

scottyjr:
A very simple solution is to use a voltage divider. Switches (buttons) are connected to points on the divider and the voltage on the output of the switch is read using analogRead.

-->

lukeskymuh:
... (no analog in or output is left).