Go Down

Topic: Daft MIDI problems (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

didcot

Hi,

I am a total newb so please excuse how pathetic this is.

I've been trying to test sending MIDI data from an arduino via the serial port. I'm using MIDI yoke and a serial-midi converter to send the data to some other software (in this case Anvil Studio). Sending a note on and a note off message works but the following code does not:

#include <MIDI.h>

void setup() {
  MIDI.begin(4);               // Launch MIDI with default options
  Serial.begin(57600);            // input channel is set to 4
}

void loop() {

MIDI.sendNoteOn(42,127,1);  // Send a Note
    MIDI.sendNoteOn(45, 127, 1);
    delay(1000);      // Wait for a second
    MIDI.sendNoteOff(42,0,1);
    MIDI.sendNoteOff(45,0,1);   // Stop the note

}

The first note is received, played and stopped. The second note (pitch 45) is not received at all. I should be able to send two notes down the same channel (practically) simultaneously, right? Any obvious mistakes? What else might be causing this?

Grumpy_Mike

Just a thought but as you are sending at 57600 bauds maybe a buffer is getting full somewhere along the line. What happens if you put a small delay between the two note on calls?

el_supremo

You could also try setting the baud rate to 38400 to see if that helps.

Pete
Don't send me technical questions via Private Message.

didcot

I've tried using a different baud rates. I set the new baud rates in my code, in the serial-midi converter and by changing the port properties in windows device manager. I tried a half-second delay between the sendNoteOn/Off messages. Still no joy. I've spent quite a lot of time rifling erratically through the internet but I'm really not sure what to look for.

I'm using Midi Yoke 1.75, the serial-midi converter from http://www.spikenzielabs.com, Windows Vista...

What other information might be useful for anyone trying to help me?

el_supremo