Go Down

Topic: Energizing a mosfet (Read 3599 times) previous topic - next topic

smeezekitty

I am fairly new to working with MOSFETs since I normally use BJT but I need to use a mosfet because I need low on resistance.
Using a P-Channel mosfet with the source connected to +15v, is bringing the gate down to 0v sufficient to turn the mosfet fully on?

Thanks in advance.
Avoid throwing electronics out as you or someone else might need them for parts or use.
Solid state rectifiers are the only REAL rectifiers.
Resistors for LEDS!

Grumpy_Mike

Yes but taking it up to 5V is not enough to turn it off.

smeezekitty

Yes but taking it up to 5V is not enough to turn it off.

I was thinking of using a pullup resistor to +15 and use an 2n2222 driven with a MCU pin (with base resistor of course) to pull it down. Would this work?
Avoid throwing electronics out as you or someone else might need them for parts or use.
Resistors for LEDS!

Grumpy_Mike

No it will fry your arduino's output pin. You need to pull it up to 12V with a resistor and pull that resistor down with a transistor.

smeezekitty

No it will fry your arduino's output pin. You need to pull it up to 12V with a resistor and pull that resistor down with a transistor.

You must have misunderstood me.
I attached a schematic.
Resistors for LEDS!

Docedison

Yes absolutely But 15 V enhancement on a mosfet gate is close to the limit, You could put a 5V Zener from gate to collector in series with the existing resistor, cathode to the gate and pull up for a cheap level shifter a 1/4 w 5V1 zener would work well. The Problem is the diaellectric used fir the gate... It will 'Punch Through' at about 18 to 20 Volts and -10V is more than enough enhancement to fully turn on the gate... IMO but as always check the data sheet for max ratings. The Gate is very sensitive to electrical damage... of any kind.

Doc
--> WA7EMS <--
"The solution of every problem is another problem." -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe