Go Down

Topic: [edit] analogRead/analogWrite Sampling Rates (Read 4095 times) previous topic - next topic

retroteck

Jul 21, 2012, 03:32 pm Last Edit: Jul 22, 2012, 06:09 am by CrossRoads Reason: 1
Hi There

I am a newbie to Arduino and would like to know how to alter the default sampling rate
on the analogue in ports from 10 bits to 8 bits on the UNO board.

Thanks

Rod

Magician

The question isn't correct. Subject line says analogWrite, which is related to digital PWM output. Message says analog input, which is using analogRead. Sampling rate defines how quickly you need to  read or sample an analog signal presented at the input, and expressed in Hertz.
Number of bits is different species, why do you think you need only 8 of them? 

retroteck

Hi Magician
Sorry i should have headed this topic analogRead.
I want to convert some low bandwith audio up to about 8kHz or so to PCM.
Sampling resolution is not too important for my purpose but sampling rate is.
I was thinking that if i could reduce the analogRead resolution to 8 bits 256 levels
to match the analogWrite PWM resolution of 256 levels, this would allow a higher
analogRead sampling rate allowing a higher modulation bandwith.
For testing i am using a software analogue sweep generator sweeping between 300Hz
and 15kHz.
I have set the PWM output frequency on pin 11 to 62.5kHz to make output filtering easier
and am writing to the PWM output the contents of a variable set to hold the input samples
from analogRead but doing this at a quater rate as to make the read samples at 1024 match the native PWM output rate of 256.
This is working after a fashion but is giving some strange results:

At the start of the input sweep from the generator at 300Hz everything is fine but after about
1kHz there is a rapid roll off and at 2.5kHz there is zero output.