Go Down

Topic: Need help lightening my robot's sturcture (Read 2191 times) previous topic - next topic

ttkoshi

Hello all. So I'm hoping to find some advice or guidance with my current project. I'm building a hexapod that's gone through many iterations, and I'm working on the final one. Previously, the chassis has been made of plastic and vynil, this time I'm cutting the body out of 1/8" aluminum (unless this seems thin).

Attached is an image of the main body. You can see the 6 points where servos will be attached. My question is this: how do i know where I can remove material without weakening the body. I'm just a hobbyist, and don't have any engineering training, so just trying to stick to what looks right. I have Autodesk Inventor if that helps, but I'm a beginner with it. I intend to use 6061 Aluminum as my material. Any info or direction would be immensely appreciated. Thanks!

-TTKoshi

Far-seeker

Ok, some addition information is required if you expect any useful advice. 

First, about how heavy where your previous versions of this robot?  Second, you need some dimensions to go with the image, at least the maximum length and width to give a sense of scale.  Third, you noted where the servos are attached now include the other major components like electronics, sensors, batteries, and anything else with appreciable weight.  Fourth, was the previous design defective in specific areas or are you changing the frame for other reasons?

ttkoshi

Apologies for not adding the info: