Go Down

Topic: Current to voltage conversion (Read 7342 times) previous topic - next topic

prth0901

Hi, I am currently working on my degree project. the main aim of the project is current to voltage conversion and programming of Aurdino uno. I am very new to this field. Can any body suggest me where to start.

jackrae

Working on a degree and asking basic questions ?

Use a resistor to simply convert current to voltage.  Equations based on OHM's law gives the relationship.  The major problems are loss of voltage in the burden resistor and that there may be circuit problems due to the resistor, and hence the voltage, being electrically tied to VCC, GND or some point in between.

Alternatively use a Hall type sensor which provides full electrical isolation for the measuring circuit and utilises the magnetic field produced by the current flow as a measure of the current.

cmiyc

the main aim of the project is current to voltage conversion

You might have to explain that one a little better.  Or at least start by providing an explanation of what "current" and "voltage" mean to you.  From your question, it doesn't seem like you have a good understanding of these fundamental concepts.
Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

prth0901

Hi Again,

Thanks for ur kindness. I do Know how to do it practically but i want to write this as programme in adrino uno. I am very new to this programming thing.

howiem

It sounds like you already know how to measure a current practically (ie. by putting a known resistor inline, and then measuring the voltage drop across it), so all you have to do is use the arduino to measure the voltage drop instead of using a voltmeter. The Arduino is equipped with ADC pins that act like simple voltmeters.

Here's a way to think it through - it's a very crude way of doing things, just for the principle: