Go Down

Topic: The simplest stepper code not working (Read 791 times) previous topic - next topic

Doomrazor

Hello everybody. I'm very new at programming and need some help with a basic thing that I couldn't find information about here on the forum. (probably it's too simple).

I have a stepper motor connected to an easydriver. I'm trying to make it do small rotations (45°, 200steps) with delay, and after a completed  rotation (360°, 1600steps) turn and go back.

Here's the code. Could you take a look and leave a comment? I would be so happy.

int stepperDir = 8;   // Direction pin on the Easydriver
int stepperStep = 9;   // Step pin on the Easydriver
int stepperCount = 0;   // Number holder for 360° rotation.
int stepperWaitCount = 0;   // Number holder for 45° rotation.

void setup() {

pinMode(stepperDir, OUTPUT); 
  pinMode(stepperStep, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(stepperDir, LOW);
  digitalWrite(stepperStep, LOW);
}

void loop(){

// Take steps with 70 milliseconds delay.
  digitalWrite(stepperStep, HIGH);
  delayMicroseconds(70);
  digitalWrite(stepperStep, LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(70);

//Count and store steps.
  stepperCount = stepperCount + 1;
  stepperWaitCount = stepperWaitCount + 1;

// If stepper has taken 200 steps, paus for half a second, than zero out the counter and continue stepping
  if (stepperWaitCount == 200)
  {
   delay(500);
  }
  stepperWaitCount = 0;

// If stepper has taken 1600 steps, turn in opposite direction, zero out the stepper counter and paus for a second, than continue.
  if (stepperCount == 1600)
  {
    if (digitalRead(stepperDir) == LOW)
    {
      digitalWrite(stepperDir, HIGH);
    }
    else
    {
      digitalWrite(stepperDir, LOW);
    }
    stepperCount = 0;
    delay(1000);
  }
}

If anyone can see the mistake I've done. Please leave a comment.

Thanks!

/Kalle

LeonardoNewbie

Hi,

you say in the comment that's milliseconds, but the code uses microseconds:
  // Take steps with 70 milliseconds delay.