Turbo charger controller advice.

Hi guys, I'm new to arduino, your forum and electronics in general... So I hope I have chosen the correct section to post.

I am using an arduino uno r3 to try to control a variable geometry turbo charger using a vacuum operated actuator from a VW (N75 boost valve). This is controlled by the D9 pin through a FET.
Inputs to the board are throttle position sensor (TPS), manifold air pressure (MAP) sensor and engine speed (RPM signal). TPS and MAP sensor info is simple 0-5v input however RPM information is apparently in a square wave.

All the inputs work with the code I am using and show up the correct values when the arduino is connected to my laptop using hyper terminal. HOWEVR as soon as I connect the N75 the RPM reading goes crazy. Just to clarify, with everything connected everything works and reads properly apart from the RPM signal but if I disconnect the N75 the RPM signal reads perfectly again.

I have tried a diode between the source pin of the N75 FET and chassis (position A on diagram) and that allowed RPM to be read up to 2000 but after that it goes crazy as before.

As you can probably tell, I am a complete novice but Im sure there is a simple soltion to stop the N75 interfering with the RPM signal.

I have been told to try a capacitor in place of the diode (position A) but I was wondering if anyone could help me out with what value to use or if there are any other solutions?

Thanks for taking the time to read this, I hope it makes some sense :slight_smile:

I think it might be easier to follow if you sketch the circuit diagram and post a photo - picture worth a thousand words sometimes.

Does sound like noise getting into the signal somehow (not hard in automotive environment).

MarkT:
I think it might be easier to follow if you sketch the circuit diagram and post a photo - picture worth a thousand words sometimes.

Does sound like noise getting into the signal somehow (not hard in automotive environment).