Non-Blocking Ethernet Library

Hi there !
I'm quite new in the arduino world, but i must admit it's a damn cool toy :slight_smile:

Anyway, i'm here, obviously, because i have a little problem.
I wanted to use the non-blocking Ethernet library updated by StoneHippo :

Because i simply want to get some LEDs blinking during a server call which isn't possible with the standard Ethernet library due to the blocking behavior of all its methods.

So, I installed everything, i loaded the poll DHCP example, compiled and transfered it o my arduino R3 + Ethernet Shield R3 and it seems to execute correctly.
But, whether I use the polling option or not, it stucks at DHCP discovering steps.
With the standard library I have no problem, it finds the network's DHCP server after a few seconds, but with this lib it stucks until the end of time :3.

As i'm a bit noob i must be missing something but i really can't figure out what.
The only hint I have from the documentations i read is that it can stuck there if there is no DHCP server on the network. Which I actually have :/.

If some arduino guru had any kind of hint i would really appreciate it :slight_smile:

Thanks for reading me :slight_smile:
Have a nice day/night/whatever!

Because i simply want to get some LEDs blinking during a server call which isn't possible with the standard Ethernet library due to the blocking behavior of all its methods.

What ethernet functions do you see as blocking? The only blocking function would be client.write() if the tx buffer is full. It will wait for space in the buffer. AFAIK, nothing else is blocking, not even client.read() if nothing is in the rx buffer. It returns int -1 immediately.

Yep sorry you're right, actually client.print and write aren't blocking.
I was more thinking about connect() and begin() methods.