Go Down

Topic: Arduino ethernet, cannot upload sketch (Read 737 times) previous topic - next topic

mastrigt

I am new to this. I bought an Arduino ethernet. As the supplier did not have the USB/Serial Light Adapter
I bought the Mini USB/Serial Adapter, connected TX to TX, RX to RX and +5 and GND to etc. Green
power light on the Ethernet Arduino burns. If I try to upload the blink sketch (Led variable changed
to 9) I get the infamous AVRDUDE message. I did a loopback test by connecting the USB Adapter TX to RX and
typed on the serial monitor, perfect response.

Is there anything else I can test ? I am not sure if the processor is running at all. If I measure voltage
on the +5 pin I get only 4.4 Volts. Could that be too low ?  Can I conclude that there is something wrong
with the board ?

NickPyner

Dec 17, 2012, 03:00 pm Last Edit: Dec 17, 2012, 11:50 pm by NickPyner Reason: 1

I get only 4.4 Volts. Could that be too low ?

Very likely

Can I conclude that there is something wrong with the board ?

Probably not.

I have no idea what you are doing with the Tx Rx stuff, maybe because my Ethernet is built-in, but I have had problems with power lately.

You make no mention of the power supply but I suspect it is via the USB cable, and it could be all down to that. I started with a USB cable, whic was actually OK, but I then tried a converted phone charger, good for 5.3v @ 1amp. It looked good and then the lcd went out. This happened when I started to use the Ethernet. In a separate exercise, I was checking the temperature under the board and it went up by a few degrees when, you'll never guess, yes, when I used the Ethernet.