Go Down

Topic: SPI Communication using ONLY arduino libraries- no AVR code! (Read 5428 times) previous topic - next topic

eriknyquist

Jan 08, 2013, 12:02 pm Last Edit: Jan 08, 2013, 12:16 pm by eriknyquist Reason: 1
I am trying to suss out how to get SPI communication going between two UNOs using only the Arduino libraries, so that my program will work the same on my chipKit UNO32 and my Leaflabs Maple board. I have a super simple master test program here;

Code: [Select]

#include <SPI.h>

char x = 'A';
void setup()
{
SPI.begin();

pinMode(SS, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(SS, HIGH);
}

void loop()
{
SPI.transfer(x);
delay(500);
}

but I'm having trouble writing the slave side, mainly because I don't fully understand the SPI.transfer(); function. Does this function control both sending AND recieving data on the SPI bus? if anyone could show me some slave code (Arduino libraries only!)  that would work with the master code above that would be awesome!

johnwasser

You have to take SS low for the duration of the sending/receiving.

void loop() {
    digitalWrite(SS, LOW);
    SPI.transfer(x);
    digitalWrite(SS, HIGH);
    delay(500);
}

Send Bitcoin tips to: 1G2qoGwMRXx8az71DVP1E81jShxtbSh5Hp

nickgammon

All should be revealed here:

http://gammon.com.au/spi
Please post technical questions on the forum, not by personal message. Thanks!

More info: http://www.gammon.com.au/electronics

eriknyquist

Nick, that's a very helpful page indeed but I'm wondering is it possible to make an equivalent slave program without directly addressing the AVR registers? for example when you turn on SPI in slave mode;

SPCR |= _BV(SPE);

because this won't work on my chipKit UNO32 board.

johnwasser

I'm wondering is it possible to make an equivalent slave program without directly addressing the AVR registers? for example when you turn on SPI in slave mode;

SPCR |= _BV(SPE);

because this won't work on my chipKit UNO32 board.