Go Down

Topic: 3 things I wish I knew going in to Arduino (Read 2696 times) previous topic - next topic

biocow

Good day all.

So I've been hanging around these parts for a few months now and I thought I'd just share a few thoughts and comments with you.

First I love learning new things, researching and solving problems so this isn't a big deal for me, but it seems that a lot of people come here with the same 3 problems.

1) Not hooking up motors correctly
2) Not realizing certain pins do certain things
3) Not knowing how to recover from the dreaded "Flashing 13"

// ****************** START RAMBLING *****************
// ************* (Feel free to skip down a bit) *************

The first is by far the worst and I can understand why. People get started and they want to see things happen. Once you get over playing with LEDs the next obvious thing to do is grab a motor or servo, jam the leads into your Arduino and try and make it move. I did it. It actually worked fine. (Low powered one.) But I didn't know I was probably damaging my board.

Next one I'm still learning. I haven't played with PWM yet, but I know there are only certain pins that it works on. Same with an interrupt which I just used for the first time this morning. But the biggest shocker was pins 0 and 1. I figured the pins are labeled 0 - 13 so I had 14 pins to work with. Then I discovered the serial monitor. A wonderful tool for debugging and everything was working fine. But as my project progressed and I needed just one more pin I decided to use pin 0 cause it was open and close to where I needed to jump to. Boy did I think I was going crazy. Of course a little searching and reading explained it all.