Go Down

Topic: Electronics 101, Ohm's law, Arduino and blue leds! Beginner here... (Read 2887 times) previous topic - next topic

crosson

Hi everyone,

Apologizes for the very basic question. I am struggling to understand what kind of resistor to use for a specific LED. I have 10 blue LEDS and an arduino uno. The packaging on the led states, "3.0-3.3v @ 20mA". Possibly I am not understanding how to calculate this. I have been studying from this site. I tried to search the forums but I don't know if anyone has dared to ask a question as basic as this...  XD

I want to blink this blue LED on a digital pin. Is this as simple as (5.0 - 3.3) / 0.02 = r ?

Grumpy_Mike

I want to blink this blue LED on a digital pin. Is this as simple as (5.0 - 3.3) / 0.02 = r ?

Yes

crosson

Is it erroneous for me to use a 100ohm resistor? Any troubleshooting tips on why I could not blink this blue LED?

billroy

100 ohms should be fine.  Perhaps if you post your code?

-br

crosson

Sure. I am just using the basic blink example program.

Code: [Select]

/*
  Blink
  Turns on an LED on for one second, then off for one second, repeatedly.

This example code is in the public domain.
*/

// Pin 13 has an LED connected on most Arduino boards.
// give it a name:
int led = 13;

// the setup routine runs once when you press reset:
void setup() {               
  // initialize the digital pin as an output.
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);     
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {
  digitalWrite(led, HIGH);   // turn the LED on (HIGH is the voltage level)
  delay(1000);               // wait for a second
  digitalWrite(led, LOW);    // turn the LED off by making the voltage LOW
  delay(1000);               // wait for a second
}

I checked the led polarity. Looks correct. I can send a pic later if needed.

Grumpy_Mike

Is it erroneous for me to use a 100ohm resistor? Any troubleshooting tips on why I could not blink this blue LED?