Go Down

Topic: self-balancing unicycle problem (Read 10400 times) previous topic - next topic

tgfeminella

Mar 11, 2013, 02:44 am Last Edit: Mar 21, 2013, 11:54 am by tgfeminella Reason: 1
Edit: problem solved! I've begun riding the unicycle although its very difficult with the cheap child's bicycle seat I'm using. The PID controller also needs some more tuning. To make it all worse, I have no unicycle experience.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mEee1iI6emE

I've built a self-balancing unicycle using a sparkfun 6dof IMU,a 250w motor,a SyRen 25 motor controller from Dimension Engineering, with an Arduino Uno. For balance control, I have a PID control system. My problem is that after a little while the directions of the output reverses for no apparent reason. I'm new to Arduino and coding so I can't figure out what is causing the problem.

Here is my code:
Code: [Select]
//code for homemade self balancing unicycle:
//sparkfun 6dof IMU
//PID output control
//Dimension Engineering SyRen 25 motor driver
//Arduino IDE 1.0

#include <FreeSixIMU.h> //fusion filtering library

#include <FIMU_ADXL345.h> //accelerometer library

#include <FIMU_ITG3200.h> //gyro library

#include <PID_v1.h> //PID control library

#include <Wire.h>

//timing
int STD_LOOP_TIME = 9;
int lastLoopTime = STD_LOOP_TIME;
int lastLoopUsefulTime = STD_LOOP_TIME;
unsigned long loopStartTime = 0;

//for IMU:
float angles[3]; //yaw pitch roll (only pitch is necessary for one-axis balance in this application)
FreeSixIMU sixDOF = FreeSixIMU(); //set the FreeSixIMU object

//for PID controller:

double BalancePoint; //angle that unicycle attempts to balance at
double PID_Output;
double Pitch;
PID myPID(&Pitch, &PID_Output, &BalancePoint,1.5,0.5,0.2, DIRECT); // numbers are (respectively): Kp,Ki,Kd

//for SyRen
int SyRen_Output; //final motor output value
int Int_Output; //used to convert pid output to int
int Direction;

void setup()
{