[solved]Uno with attiny85: avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

follwing steps from high-low tech here. http://hlt.media.mit.edu/?p=1706

It gives me an error : avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

I have tried it more than 5 times, changing jumping wires and the attiny85. I even dowloaded older version 1.0.1. I have googled and read many pages, but can't find any solution. Can anyone help?

=================
somehow, I need to upload an arduinoisp sketch to the uno board before I can use it as an ISP to upload the code to the attiny chip. I am very new to arduino, and I missed this step from the high-low tech tutorial.

It gives me an error : avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

When you do what?

What type of ICSP programmer are you using?

when I upload a simple blinking led sketch.

I have no idea what a ICSP programmer is, but I am sure I have picked "Arduino as ISP", as that tutorial shown.

hiduino:
What type of ICSP programmer are you using?

Which board do you have selected when you try to upload the blink sketch?

there are only 3 options for attiny85, and I selected all of them with the same error.

This error indicates that the ide is not communicating correctly with the board. Please make sure you have the correct drivers installed and have the correct COM port selected. This is really the only help I can give you as this is a weird way of doing this as I have only experimented with hooking up the TX and RX pins and transferring data through that. I could also suggest that you have the needed cap value and you have it in the correct way (white line to gnd) and that you have the correct code for your ide version.

Quote from website:

Note for Arduino 1.0: you need to make a small change to the ArduinoISP sketch before uploading it. Find the line in the heartbeat() function that says “delay(40);” and change it to “delay(20);”.