Go Down

Topic: Yet Another "Serial Port Already in Use" Problem (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

bjosephs

Hi folks,

I'm still new to programming but thanks to a senior project I'm 6 months into I've had quite a bit of practice with my uno and mega boards.  Recently I started having a problem come up - maybe after hours of successful uploading or sometimes with my first upload of the day - my sketches won't upload and I get the error below.  This includes my sketches and all of the standard examples as well.  It's not related to port/board settings as I don't change them once I get rolling and once it starts none of my arduino compatible hardware will access a serial port.  I restart the IDE and nothing changes, I restart the computer, fully shut down, log into different users.... nothing works.  After a day or to the problem goes away.  I get some time in and suddenly the error starts up and I can't do any work until it decides to go away.  I've even taken the boards to other computers with the Arduino IDE and about 50% of the time they will work, the rest of the time they give the same error on the second computer.  If I can get the board working on that second computer, when I bring it back to my main computer it sometimes works and sometimes doesn't.  I wish I could be more specific on the frequency but I haven't been doing much more than frantically trying things.

I've googled extensively on this and read every thread on the matter including on windows computers.  I don't have any software (I know of) that is using my serial ports.  I've tried running the "lsof | grep usbmodem" line (from http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php?topic=28487.0 thread) to see if anything is using my port (dev/tty/BrianJosephssMacPro-Blu) and nothing returns.  I've tried https://gist.github.com/jens-a-e/1419677 and there is no change.  I hope someone can help as this is a devastating setback every time it comes up.  Not a lot of weeks left until graduation....