Please help me in buying an Arduino board/kit

Hello,
I'm Senthur, a mechanical engineer, I'm more fascinated in automation and robotic control, after reading about Arduino on the internet I thought of making some nice robots/toys with the tool. Since I'm a mechanical engineer it would be interesting for me to automate some things as well.
As a beginner I would be more interested in learning how to program, how to read signals from the sensors and how to actuate the motors and other stuffs connected to the board. After going through the kind of boards available in the website, I am quite confused on which board I should purchase and how to start using them.

I want to connect the board to my laptop and program through it, also I would like to connect the board to different actuators and sensors. I don't want to go for a very basic model, I'm not worried about spending for a few more pounds and getting a good board which will be having some good functionalities in them.

If I'm building a robot definitely I should keep a controlling board on the robot as well, what kind of board should I purchase if I'm building a remote controlled robot, how to program the board and integrate it in the toy ?
Thanks in advance, guys please help me if I haven't clearly stated the details, apologise since I'm very new to this microcontroller world. Waiting for your replies.

senthurbalan:
If I'm building a robot definitely I should keep a controlling board on the robot as well, what kind of board should I purchase if I'm building a remote controlled robot, how to program the board and integrate it in the toy ?

I know you said you didn't want to go for the "most basic model" - but I can assure you that if you are just starting out, that is -exactly- what you should do.

The most basic "standard" model of the Arduino today is the Arduino Uno, which uses the ATMega328 microcontroller: