First Uno shield problem

I have trying to make my first simple shield and decided on eight LED’s driven by a 595 shift register. No matter what code I upload to the board, only the same four LED’s light. I know that all the codes that I am using are good so it is a circuit design or actual wiring fault as far as I can see. Now that I look at the circuit again is it a problem how I have the two 0.1 mf caps situated. I realise that they are supposed to be as close to the 595 power pins as possible but the routing of the pcb tracks was aimed at avoiding any jumpers or doudle sided board. Please go easy on me I am only learning and this simple shield really had me thinking., thanks for any advice Pedro.

//Define which pins will be used for the Shift Register control
#include <SPI.h>
byte dataPin = 11;   // connect to pin 14 on the shift register    
byte latchPin = 10;  // connect to pin 12 on the shift register 
byte clockPin = 13;  // connect to pin 11 on the shift register 
byte seq1[14] = {1,2,4,8,16,32,64,128,64,32,16,8,4,2};
byte i = 0;
byte timer = 50;
void setup()
{

pinMode(latchPin, OUTPUT);  //Configure each IO Pin
    pinMode(clockPin, OUTPUT);
    SPI.begin();
}

void loop()

{
      for(i = 0; i < 14; i++)
      {
        digitalWrite(latchPin, LOW);                            
        SPI.transfer (seq1[i]);         
        digitalWrite(latchPin, HIGH);                           
        delay(timer);
      }
    }

Eight_LED_SR_shield.bmp (827 KB)

Pedro147:
only the same four LED’s light.

so it is a circuit design or actual wiring fault as far as I can see. Now that I look at the circuit again is it a problem how I have the two 0.1 mf caps situated.

It's unreasonable to suggest that the position of the capacitors allows four LEDs to light but keeps the others off. It's much more likely to be slack soldering or the like.

Get rid of these, SPI takes care of the pins
byte dataPin = 11; // connect to pin 14 on the shift register