Go Down

Topic: Battery and wall wart connection (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

jasonandkids

Hello,
Is it possible to connect both positives from a battery and wall wart, then connect both negatives to a nc/no switch? 
I am trying to power my project with either battery or a wall wart.
Thank you,
Jason

CrossRoads

Connect the Gnds together and to the Arduino.
Connect one positive each to NC and NO, and the Common to the Arduino.
Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years.  Screw Shield for Mega/Due/Uno,  Bobuino with ATMega1284P, & other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  my website.

Chagrin

See also http://www.ti.com.cn/cn/lit/ds/symlink/lm1117-n.pdf figure 37 for ideas.

jasonandkids

Mar 04, 2014, 12:58 pm Last Edit: Mar 04, 2014, 01:01 pm by jasonandkids Reason: 1

See also http://www.ti.com.cn/cn/lit/ds/symlink/lm1117-n.pdf figure 37 for ideas.

I am new to electronics, and am confused by your post.  How would any of those devices help me?  Do I need to have another device for my project, or will my NO/NC switch work by itself?
Thanks

Chagrin

Your switch will work by itself. The advantage of the type of circuit I linked above is that it will automatically fail over between the wall power and battery when either is removed -- no switching required.

jasonandkids

What would the best way to automatically switch between battery and wall wart?  Could I use a PNP?
I would like the battery to be used if the wall wart is not plugged in.
Thanks,
Jason

mirith

I'd possibly look at figure 37 as suggested before?

jasonandkids

I am a little confused by figure 37.  I am new to electronics, and do not understand the schematic.  Do you know of another site that might explain it further?